The NHL Department of Player Safety will review Torey Krug’s hit on Andrew Shaw

Shaw returned to the game after leaving early in the first period.

Andrew Shaw was caught by Torey Krug in the neutral zone in the first period of Monday’s game with the Boston Bruins. Shaw left the game after appearing to have been momentarily dazed after head contact, but did return just as the second period was getting underway.

After the game, it was announced the the NHL’s Department of Player Safety would be reviewing the hit to determine if it requires supplementary discipline. No penalty was given on the play.

It will be a tough investigation, because while the principal point of contact was the head, Shaw is also reaching for the puck when contact is made. No matter what they decide, their ruling will have no bearing on the game’s result.

Top of comments section | Top of article | Homepage