clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2018 World Junior Showcase: Saturday’s start times, TV schedule, and open thread

New, comments

The showcase concluded with two rivalry matchups on the final day.

Shanna Martin

Many of the world’s best young hockey talents have convened in Kamloops this week to participate in the World Junior Showcase. The friendly tournament allows coaching staffs to evaluate a few of the players who could take spots on their national teams for the World Junior Hockey Championship, which gets under way in late December.

The event sees its final two games today, with two international rivalries on the slate.

Canada vs. United States

Puck drop: 5:00 PM EDT / 2:00 PM PDT
In Canada: TSN1, TSN3
In the USA: NHL Network
Online: TSN Direct

Canada and the US have both won the first two games they’ve played since combining their split squads into one for the friendly games. One nation will leave the tournament undefeated, feeling good about its chances at the World Juniors later this year.

The question for Montreal Canadiens fans if whether Cayden Primeau will get the start in goal, or if the US chooses another of their four goaltenders for this match. Primeau was chosen as the starter for the first game on Thursday, so it’s possible he will get the nod once again.

Finland vs. Sweden

Puck drop: 8:00 PM EDT / 5:00 PM PDT
In Canada: TSN2 (tape delayed at 10:00 PM EDT / 7:00 PM PDT)
In the USA: NHL Network
Online: TSN Direct

The Finns and Swedes were each only able to score a single goal versus their North American opponents yesterday, and the players will want to make a more offensive impression on their coaches before heading back home.

For Sweden, that may manifest in a more energetic power play, and that could mean Jacob Olofsson is one of the more involved players on the ice tonight.