clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2018 World Junior Showcase: Friday’s start times, TV schedule, and open thread

New, comments

Jacob Olofsson gets a primetime slot as Sweden takes on Canada in Kamloops

Shanna Martin / Eyes On The Prize

Many of the world’s best young hockey talents have convened in Kamloops this week to participate in the World Junior Showcase. The friendly tournament allows coaching staffs to evaluate a few of the players who could take spots on their national teams for the World Junior Hockey Championship, which gets under way in late December.

Canada is playing host to teams from Sweden, Finland, and the United States, with each team playing three games in three days.

United States vs. Finland

Puck drop: 4:00 PM EDT / 1:00 PM PDT
In Canada: TSN1, TSN4
Online: TSN Direct

When this matchup occurs at the actual World Juniors tournament, we could be seeing Ryan Poehling matching up with Jesperi Kotkaniemi and Jesse Ylönen, while Cayden Primeau tries to stop that Finnish duo from scoring. However, with none of those forwards playing today and Primeau getting the full game versus Sweden yesterday, there won’t be any Habs prospects to watch.

But you may still see something like this from one of the 2018 Draft’s most dynamic talents:

Canada vs. Sweden

Puck drop: 9:00 PM EDT / 6:00 PM PDT
In Canada: TSN2
Online: TSN Direct

Today’s Top 25 Under 25 profilee will be the only Canadiens prospect in action on Friday. Jacob Olofsson had an assist on what was the go-ahead goal midway through the third period of Thursday’s game, but the US came back, capping it off with the incredible overtime goal above. He’ll hope to help his team to a better fate versus the host nation in tonight’s game.