clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

World Juniors 2017: Team Canada makes final cuts, announces tournament roster

The roster that will represent Canada at the World Junior Hockey Championship has been finalized, with the cuts completed.

Gold Medal - 2015 IIHF World Junior Championship Photo by Dennis Pajot/Getty Images

Team Canada has announced the final 22-man roster for the 2017 World Junior Championship after a three-game selection camp.

Montreal Canadiens goaltending prospect Michael McNiven did not make the cut, losing out to Tampa Bay Lightning pick Connor Ingram for the role of backup to Carter Hart.

Fortunately for Habs fans, there will be a Canadiens prospect on Team Canada this year. Montreal’s first-round selection from 2015, Noah Juulsen, will be counted upon to play a big role with the team. He was the final cut last year, and got his redemption for 2017.

There were several valid criticisms of Team Canada’s play in 2016, ranging from poor defensive coverage, weak goaltending, and a lack of chemistry. They’ll be aiming to improve upon their quarter-finals elimination at the hands of Finland last year. Finland emerged as 2016 champions, beating Russia 4-3 in the gold medal game.

Earlier in the week, another Canadiens prospect, Victor Mete, was cut from the team. Like Juulsen the previous year, Mete’s participation in the camp will have him in good position to make the team for the 2018 tournament.

Joining Mete as cuts on the blue line are QMJHL defenders Guillaume Brisebois of the Charolottetown Islanders and Shawinigan Cataractes player Samuel Girard.

At forward, the decisions were tough as several of the bubble players had great camps, with lots of offence in the three games played.

Ultimately, it was Zach Senyshyn of the OHL, and the WHL’s Sam Steel who were excluded from the final roster. They were beat out by a few players who had strong camps, notably Taylor Raddysh, Dillon Dube, Michael McLeod, and Blake Speers who entered the camp without secure positions.

The cuts complete the 22-man roster that will begin the 2017 World Junior Hockey Championship on December 26. This final version of Team Canada will take on Team Russia on the first day of competition.

Name POS SH Current Team
Matthew Barzal F R Seattle (WHL)
Anthony Cirelli F L Oshawa (OHL)
Dillon Dube F L Kelowna (WHL)
Pierre-Luc Dubois F L Cape Breton (QMJHL)
Julien Gauthier F R Val-d’Or (QMJHL)
Mathieu Joseph F L Saint John (QMJHL)
Tyson Jost F L U. North Dakota (WCHA)
Michael McLeod F R Mississauga (OHL)
Taylor Raddysh F R Erie (OHL)
Nicolas Roy F R Chicoutimi (QMJHL)
Blake Speers F R Sault Ste Marie (OHL)
Mitchell Stephens F R Saginaw (OHL)
Dylan Strome F L Erie (OHL)
Jake Bean D L Calgary (WHL)
Thomas Chabot D L Saint John (QMJHL)
Kale Clague D L Brandon (WHL)
Dante Fabbro D R Boston University (HE)
Noah Juulsen D R Everett (WHL)
Jeremy Lauzon D L Rouyn-Noranda (QMJHL)
Philippe Myers D L Rouyn-Noranda (QMJHL)
Carter Hart G - Everett (WHL)
Connor Ingram G - Kamloops (WHL)