clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

World Juniors 2015: Canada vs Russia preview, TV schedule, lineups, and game thread

New, comments

We get our first taste of WJC action tonight, with the Canadians facing the Russians.

Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

Team Canada will face the Russian squad tonight, as pre-tournament action for the 2015 World Junior Championship gets underway in Toronto.

Zachary Fucale will be given the start by coach Benoit Groulx, who is yet to choose his starter for the tournament. Fucale has the edge in terms of experience, but there's no denying that Eric Comrie is playing better of late. Curtis Lazar won't be in the lineup, neither will star prospect Connor McDavid.

On the Russian side of things, Canada will have to keep an eye on Nikolay Goldobin, Ivan Barbashev and Pavel Buchnevich in particular, as all three of them have shown they can terrorize opposing defenders.

Team Russia only features three returning players from last year's bronze medal winning squad, whereas the Canadians have seven returning players on their current roster.

You can watch the game on TSN1, TSN4, and listen in on the TSN radio network. Coverage begins at 7:00 PM EST.

We're not 100% sure what the lines will look like in this game, but here's our lineup projection.

Team Canada Projected Lineup
Left Wing Center Right Wing
Max Domi Sam Reinhart Anthony Duclair
Nick Ritchie Nick Paul Brayden Point
Lawson Crouse Frederik Gauthier Jake Virtanen
Michael Dal Colle Jason Dickinson Chartier/Fabbri
Left Defense Right Defense
Darnell Nurse Shea Theodore
Samuel Morin Madison Bowey
Josh Morrissey Fleury/Heatherington
Zachary Fucale
Eric Comrie

Scratched: Nic Petan, Connor McDavid, Joe Hicketts, Curtis Lazar,

Team Russia Projected Lineup
Left Wing Center Right Wing
Nikolay Goldobin Ivan Barbashev Pavel Buchnevich
Anatoli Golyshev Vladislav Kamanev Sergey Tolchinsky
Vyacheslav Leshchenko Alexander Sharov Maxim Mamin
Vladimir Bryukvin Ivan Fischenko Alexander Dergachyov
Left Defense Right Defense
Rushan Rafikov Dmitri Yudin
Ian Provorov Rinat Valiev
Valdislav Gavrikov Ivan Vereshchagin
Ilya Sorokin
Igor Shesterkin

Scratched: Vladimir Tkachev, Konstantin Okulov, Ziyat Paygin, Damir Sharipzyanov.