clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NCAA Frozen Four Preview: Women's hockey

The NCAA's Frozen Four in women's hockey begins today.

Boston Globe

Here is a brief preview of the NCAA Women's Frozen Four, which begins tonight.

The NCAA women's Frozen Four takes place at sold-out Ridder Arena in Minneapolis this weekend. Unfortunately, none of the games are televised, but fans can stream them live for free on the NCAA website.


In the quarterfinals on March 14, Minnesota beat RIT 6-2 in the, while the Wisconsin Badgers defeated EOTP favourite Marie-Philip Poulin and the Boston University Terriers by a margin of 5-1. Also on March 14, Boston College eliminated defending champions Clarkson with a 5-1 win. Finally, Harvard shut Quinnipiac out 5-0 to return to the Frozen Four for the first time since 2008.


Tonight, at 6pm ET, fourth-seeded Wisconsin takes on top-seeded Minnesota. Also tonight, at 9pm ET, No. 2 seed Boston College plays No. 3 seed Harvard. The championship game is on Sunday at 4pm ET.


• Wisconsin vs Minnesota is a rematch of last season's semifinals, in which the Gophers prevailed, earning a third consecutive appearance in the national title game. They're looking to make it four against a Badgers team that's currently firing on all cylinders.

• Minnesota, playing on home ice, is looking for a sixth national title while Wisconsin is after a fifth.

• Historically, Harvard has had BC's number but in recent years BC has had the upper hand, including a 10-2 rout back in November, and game that is cited as the turning point of Harvard's season. However, the Crimson broke the Eagles' 28- game unbeaten streak on February 10.

• Harvard is coached by Katey Stone, who coached the US Olympic team to a silver medal. Harvard has three other Olympians on the team: Josephine Pucci, Michelle Picard, and Lyndsey Fry. This year's top scorer, Alex Carpenter, is the lone Olympian on the BC Eagles.

• This year's finalists for the Patty Kazmaier Award (given to the top women's hockey player each year) are Hannah Brandt of Minnesota, Alex Carpenter of Boston College, and Marie-Philip Poulin of (now-eliminated) Boston University.

• Check back here for a tournament summary after the championship game.