The NHL Awards - EOTP Votes on the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

The NHL awards are often awarded to people who don't deserve them, so we decided to have our own awards. The rules of the game were simple, nine members of EOTP voted on the awards, each person voting for three people for each award, 3 points for a 1st place vote, 1 for 3rd place. In order to re

The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is awarded each year to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to ice hockey.

The award is normally voted on by members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association, but for today it will be voted on by nine members of Eyes on the Prize.

The panel was more split on the Masterton than on any other award, with the winner getting just two first place votes. As it turns out, the Chicago Blackhawks' Marian Hossa edged out the Minnesota Wild's Josh Harding.

Marian Hossa was taken out of the playoffs last season on a malicious head shot by Raffi Torres that resulted in a lengthy suspension, and threatened Hossa's career.

Hossa returned to the Blackhawks as a top line player and invaluable member of the Presidents' Trophy winning team, on pace for a 36 goal season over an 82 game schedule.

Top of comments section | Top of article | Homepage