clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Montreal Canadiens announce 2019 development camp roster and schedule

39 players to take part in the annual event.

Shanna Martin

The Montreal Canadiens announced that they will hold their annual development camp at the Bell Sports Complex in Brossard from June 26 to June 28.

  • 39 players will take part in the event, including 10 tryouts. It will be the first hockey related activity in a Canadiens jersey for several of these players including Cole Caufield, and the rest of the 2019 Draft Class, among others. Of note, Mattias Norlinder, Joni Ikonen, and Alexander Romanov, will not attend the camp. An update from the team also added Kieran Ruscheinski to that list.

The team will take part in three scrimmages starting on Wednesday.

Development camp will serve as the only time that NCAA prospects will take part in activities with the Canadiens this season. NCAA rules are very strict when it comes to their student-athletes associating with professional organizations, but they do allow a 48 hour window for players to have their travel and accommodations paid for by NHL teams. If players want to stay longer they must pay for the remaining duration of the development camp out-of-pocket, including their return trip home. Jake Evans, for example, left the 2016 development camp after two days.

Here is the full roster:


  • Connor Lacouvee, AHL free agent signing, Laval Rocket (AHL) / Maine Mariners (ECHL)
  • Gabriel Mollot-Hill, undrafted tryout, University of Providence (NCAA)
  • Frederik Nissen Dichow, 2019 fifth-round draft pick, Vojens (Denmark)
  • Cayden Primeau, 2017 seventh-round draft pick, Laval Rocket (AHL)
  • Vincent Purpura, undrafted tryout, Boston University (NCAA)
  • Alexis Shank, undrafted tryout, Chicoutimi Sagueneens (QMJHL)


  • Josh Brook, 2017 second-round draft pick, Laval Rocket (AHL)
  • Gianni Fairbrother, 2019 third-round draft pick, Everett Silvertips (WHL)
  • Cale Fleury, 2017 third-round draft pick, Laval Rocket (AHL)
  • Jordan Harris, 2018 third-round draft pick, Northeasten University (NCAA)
  • Jacob Leguerrier, 2019 fifth-round draft pick, SOO Greyhounds (OHL)
  • Otto Leskinen, 2019 undrafted free agent signing, KalPa (Liiga)
  • Christopher Merisier-Ortiz, undrafted tryout, Baie-Comeau Drakkar (QMJHL)
  • Dylan Plouffe, undrafted tryout, Vancouver Giants (WHL)
  • Jayden Struble, 2019 second-round draft pick, St. Sebastiens (US H.S.)
  • Jack York, undrafted tryout, Barrie Colts (OHL)


  • Alexandre Alain, 2018 undrafted free agent signing, Laval Rocket (AHL)
  • Cole Caufield, 2019 first-round draft pick, US Development Team
  • Jake Evans, 2014 seventh-round draft pick, University of Notre Dame (NCAA)
  • Cole Fonstad, 2018 fifth-round draft pick, Prince Albert Raiders (WHL)
  • Jack Gorniak, 2018 fourth-round draft pick, University of Wisconsin (NCAA)
  • Nicolas Guay, undrafted tryout, Saint John Sea Dogs (QMJHL)
  • Rafael Harvey-Pinard, 2019 seventh-round draft pick, Rouyn-Noranda Huskies (QMJHL)
  • Liam Hawel, undrafted tryout, Guelph Storm (OHL)
  • Cameron Hillis, 2018 third-round draft pick, Guelph Storm (OHL)
  • Samuel Houde, 2018 fifth-round draft pick, Chicoutimi Sagueneens (QMJHL)
  • Vincent Marleau, undrafted tryout, Rouyn-Noranda Huskies (QMJHL)
  • Allan McShane, 2018 fourth-round draft pick, Oshawa Generals (OHL)
  • Yevgeni Oksentyuk, undrafted tryout, Soligorsk (Belarus)
  • Jacob Olofsson, 2018 second-round draft pick, Skellefteå AIK (Sweden)
  • Michael Pezzetta, 2016 sixth-round draft pick, Laval Rocket (AHL)
  • Rhett Pitlick, 2019 fifth-round draft pick, Chaska (Minnesota H.S.)
  • Ryan Poehling, 2017 first-round draft pick, St. Cloud State University (NCAA)
  • Brett Stapley, 2018 seventh-round draft pick, Denver University (NCAA)
  • Matthew Struthers, undrafted tryout, North Bay Battalion (OHL) / Laval Rocket (AHL)
  • Nick Suzuki, 2018 trade acquisition, Guelph Storm (OHL)
  • Joel Teasdale, 2018 undrafted free agent signing, Rouyn-Noranda Huskies (QMJHL)
  • Hayden Verbeek, 2018 undrafted free agent signing, Laval Rocket (AHL)
  • Jesse Ylõnen, 2018 second-round draft pick, Espoo (Finland)