clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Montreal Canadiens announce 2018 development camp roster and schedule

40 players to take part in the annual event

Shanna Martin

The Montreal Canadiens announced that they will hold their annual development camp at the Bell Sports Complex in Brossard from June 28 to July 1.

40 players will take part in the event, including 10 tryouts. It will be the first hockey related activity in a Canadiens jersey for several of these players including Jesperi Kotkaniemi, and the rest of the 2018 Draft Class, among others. Of note, Alexander Romanov, Brett Stapley, and Lukas Vejdemo will not attend the camp.

The team will take part in three scrimmages starting on Friday. Camp opens on Thursday with medicals and physical exams.

Development camp will serve as the only time that NCAA prospects will take part in activities with the Canadiens this season. NCAA rules are very strict when it comes to their student-athletes associating with professional organizations, but they do allow a 48 hour window for players to have their travel and accommodations paid for by NHL teams. If players want to stay longer they must pay for the remaining duration of the development camp out-of-pocket, including their return trip home. Jake Evans, for example, left the 2016 development camp after two days.

Alexandre Alain, Hayden Verbeek, Scott Walford, Jake Evans and Joni Ikonen will attend the camp, but are still injured and not going to participate.

Here is the full roster:


  • Stephen Dhillon, undrafted tryout, Niagara Ice Dogs (OHL)
  • Samuel Harvey, undrafted tryout, Rouyn-Noranda Huskies (QMJHL) *added June 27*
  • Etienne Marcoux, AHL free agent signing, Indy Fuel (ECHL)
  • Michael McNiven, 2015 free agent signing, Laval Rocket (AHL)
  • Gabriel Mollot-Hill, undrafted tryout, University of Providence (NCAA)
  • Cayden Primeau, 2017 seventh-round draft pick, Northeastern (NCAA)


  • Simon Bourque, 2015 sixth-round draft pick, Laval Rocket (AHL)
  • Josh Brook, 2017 second-round draft pick, Moose Jaw Warriors (WHL)
  • Cale Fleury, 2017 third-round draft pick, Regina Pats (WHL)
  • Jordan Harris, 2018 third-round draft pick, Kimball-Union (New Hampshire HS)
  • Cameron Lee, undrafted tryout, Western Michigan (NCAA)
  • Otto Leskinen, undrafted tryout, KalPa (Liiga)
  • T.J. Melancon, 2018 undrafted AHL free agent signing, Norfolk Admirals (ECHL)
  • Michal Moravcik, 2018 undrafted free agent signing, HC Plzen (Czech)
  • Adam Plant, 2018 undrafted AHL free agent signing, University of Denver (NCAA)
  • David Sklenicka, 2018 undrafted free agent signing, HC Plzen (Czech)
  • Jarret Tyszka, 2017 fifth-round draft pick, Seattle Thunderbirds (WHL)
  • Scott Walford, 2017 third-round draft pick, Victoria Royals (WHL)


  • Jeremiah Addison, 2015 seventh-round draft pick, Laval Rocket (AHL)
  • Alexandre Alain, 2018 undrafted free agent signing, Blainville-Boisbriand Armada (QMJHL)
  • Will Bitten, 2016 third-round draft pick, Hamilton Bulldogs (OHL)
  • Vladimir Bryukvin, undrafted tryout, CSKA Moscow (KHL)
  • Jake Evans, 2014 seventh-round draft pick, University of Notre Dame (NCAA)
  • Cole Fonstad, 2018 fifth-round draft pick, Prince Albert Raiders (WHL)
  • Jack Gorniak, 2018 fourth-round draft pick, West Salem (Wisconsin HS)
  • Brandon Hagel, Undrafted tryout, Red Deer Rebels (WHL)
  • Cameron Hillis, 2018 third-round draft pick, Guelph Storm (OHL)
  • Samuel Houde, 2018 fifth-round draft pick, Chicoutimi Sagueneens (QMJHL)
  • Ryan Hughes, undrafted tryout, Portland Winterhawks (WHL)
  • Joni Ikonen, 2017 second-round draft pick, Frõlunda/KalPa (SHL/Liiga)
  • Alex Katerinakis, undrafted tryout, Blainville-Boisbriand Armada (QMJHL)
  • Jesperi Kotkaniemi, 2018 first-round draft pick, Āssāt (Liiga)
  • Allan McShane, 2018 fourth-round draft pick, Oshawa Generals (OHL)
  • Jacob Olofsson, 2018 second-round draft pick, Timra IK (Sweden)
  • Michael Pezzetta, 2016 sixth-round draft pick, Sarnia Sting (OHL)
  • Ryan Poehling, 2017 first-round draft pick, St. Cloud State University (NCAA)
  • Anthony Rinaldi, undrafted tryout, Union College (NCAA)
  • Joel Teasdale, undrafted tryout, Blainville-Boisbriand Armada (QMJHL)
  • Hayden Verbeek, 2018 undrafted AHL free agent signing, SSM Greyhounds (OHL)
  • Antoine Waked, 2017 undrafted AHL free agent signing, Laval Rocket (AHL)
  • Jesse Ylõnen, 2018 second-round draft pick, Espoo (Finland)