Max Pacioretty Wins Masterton

After a breakout season that followed a devastating injury, Pacioretty wins his first piece of hardware.

Max Pacioretty has won the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy as the NHL player who player best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.

Pacioretty was clearly humbled in his acceptance speech as he thanked the Montreal Canadiens organization, his teammates, doctors and fans for their support.

Pacioretty was the Canadiens' best forward this season, with a career high 33 goals and 32 assists for a team high 65 points. This less than less than a year after seeing his career put in jeopardy after a big hit from Boston's Zdeno Chara on March 8, 2011. Pacioretty suffered a fracture to the 4th cervical vertebra and a severe concussion.

Pacioretty beat out the Ottawa Senators Daniel Alfredsson and the Maple Leafs Joffrey Lupul at Wednesday's NHL Awards in Las Vegas.

This is the fifth Canadiens player to win the Masterton. The late Claude Provost won the inaugural award in 1968. Henri Richard (1974), Serge Savard (1979) and Saku Koivu (2002) are the others.

The presentation and Pacioretty's acceptance, and the list of the other winners, after the jump.

Hart Memorial Trophy (MVP)Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins

Vezina Trophy (top goaltender) Henrik Lundqvist, Rangers

Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player, as voted by NHL players) – Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins

Jack Adams Award (top coach) – Ken Hitchcock, St. Louis Blues

Calder Memorial Trophy (top rookie) Gabriel Landeskog, Colorado Avalanche

James Norris Memorial Trophy (top defenseman)Erik Karlsson, Ottawa Senators

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (sportsmanship and ability)Brian Campbell, Florida Panthers

Frank J. Selke Trophy (top defensive forward)Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (perseverance and dedication) – Max Pacioretty, Montreal Canadiens

William M. Jennings Trophy (fewest goals allowed)Brian Elliott and Jaroslav Halak, St. Louis Blues

Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy (most goals) Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay Lightning

Art Ross Trophy (most points) – Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins

General Manager of the Year – Doug Armstrong, St. Louis Blues

King Clancy Memorial Trophy (humanitarian contributions to community) – Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators

NHL Foundation Player Award (commitment, perseverance and teamwork) Mike Fisher, Nashville Predators

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award Shane Doan, Phoenix Coyotes


G Henrik Lundqvist, Rangers

D Erik Karlsson, Ottawa Senators

D Shea Weber, Nashville Predators

C Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins

RW James Neal, Pittsburgh Penguins

LW Ilya Kovalchuk, New Jersey Devils


G Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings

D Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins

D Alex Pietrangelo, St. Louis Blues

C Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay Lightning

RW Marian Gaborik, Rangers

LW Ray Whitney, Phoenix Coyotes

Top of comments section | Top of article | Homepage