clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Montreal Canadiens place Chris Terry on waivers, leaving 32 players still at training camp

Taormina clears waivers and is assigned to Laval, as Terry is put on waivers

NHL: Toronto Maple Leafs at Montreal Canadiens Jean-Yves Ahern-USA TODAY Sports

The Montreal Canadiens placed Matt Taormina on waivers yesterday as they pare down the roster slowly yet steadily ahead of the regular season. Taormina cleared today, and will rejoin the Laval Rocket ahead of their preseason opener this weekend.

The Canadiens made another move today, just one week ahead of the start of the season, putting forward Chris Terry on waivers.

Terry will be exposed to the other 30 NHL teams for the next 24 hours. Those teams can make a claim on any player they wish to add to their NHL roster. If multiple teams make a claim, the one that finished lowest in the regular-season standings in 2016-17 will be granted the rights to that player.

Currently, that team is the Colorado Avalanche, who fished with a mere 48 points last season. A team moves to the bottom of the priority list after making a claim, shuffling all those behind up one spot.

The Avalanche claimed Mark Barberio on February 2, 2017 after he was placed on waivers for the purpose of reassignment the day before. The Canadiens also lost Mike Condon on waivers to the Pittsburgh Penguins when they attempted to reassign him to the St. John’s IceCaps days before the 2016-17 season, on October 11, 2016.

The 32 players still remaining at training camp are:

  • Karl Alzner (D, NHL)
  • Jordie Benn (D, NHL)
  • Paul Byron (F, NHL)
  • Daniel Carr (F, AHL)
  • Phillip Danault (F, NHL)
  • Brandon Davidson (D, NHL/AHL)
  • Jacob de la Rose (F, NHL/AHL)
  • Jonathan Drouin (F, NHL)
  • Byron Froese (F, AHL)
  • Alex Galchenyuk (F, NHL)
  • Brendan Gallagher (F, NHL)
  • Eric Gélinas (D, tryout)
  • Ales Hemsky (F, NHL)
  • Peter Holland (F, AHL)
  • Charles Hudon (F, AHL)
  • Jakub Jerabek (D, NHL/AHL, waivers exempt)
  • Artturi Lehkonen (F, NHL, waivers exempt)
  • Charlie Lindgren (G, AHL, waivers exempt)
  • Andreas Martinsen (F, NHL)
  • Victor Mete (D, OHL, junior eligibility)
  • Michael McCarron (F, AHL, waivers exempt)
  • Torrey Mitchell (F, NHL)
  • Al Montoya (G, NHL)
  • Joe Morrow (D NHL/AHL)
  • Max Pacioretty (F NHL)
  • Jeff Petry (D, NHL)
  • Tomas Plekanec (F, NHL)
  • Carey Price (G, NHL)
  • David Schlemko (D, NHL)
  • Andrew Shaw (F, NHL)
  • Mark Streit (D, NHL)
  • Shea Weber (D, NHL)