clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Carey Price wins Vezina Trophy

A record-shattering season has earned Carey Price his first Vezina Trophy.

Minas Panagiotakis/Getty Images

While it probably isn't surprising to anyone who has paid even mild attention to the 2014-15 NHL season, Montreal Canadiens goaltender Carey Price has won the Vezina Trophy as the best at his position in the league.

Price led the league in save percentage, goals against average, and wins, and broke the Montreal Canadiens' record for wins in a single season, previously held by Ken Dryden and Jacques Plante.

While Canadiens goaltender have won the Vezina Trophy a staggering 29 times since the award was created in 1926, Price is just the second Habs goalie to win since Patrick Roy's last one back in 1992, with Jose Theodore winning in 2002.

Price is still up for both the Ted Lindsay Award and Hart Memorial Trophy, for which he is considered a favourite.