2017 NHL Expansion Draft and Awards show: Start time, TV schedule, and how to watch online

Everything you need to know about a big night in the NHL.

It’s time for the event every hockey fan has been waiting for: it’s the 2017 NHL Awards!

OK, maybe not, but this year the annual showcase will be livened up by incorporating the expansion draft for the Vegas Golden Knights. The team’s selections will be announced in small groups throughout the evening.

We’ll finally see which players will be in a new home at the start of next season, while also learning of any trades that took place in the last few days.

#Habs News: The official list of players that will be protected & exposed for the Vegas expansion draft

Some of the top players selected will be introduced on stage, giving fans in Nevada their first look at those they will be rooting for next season. It should be interesting to find out which direction George McPhee and his management staff decided to go after being given a blank slate.

The awards ceremony will have even greater talent on display, with some of the elite players in the league accepting hardware for their spectacular 2016-17 seasons. Up for grabs are the Calder Trophy for the league’s best rookie, the Norris Trophy going to the best defenceman, The Vezina Trophy for the top goaltender, with Montreal Canadiens netminder Carey Price vying for the award a second time, and the Hart Trophy going to the most valuable player in the league.

How to watch

Start time: 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT
Venue: T-Mobile Arena, Las Vegas, Nevada
In Canada: Sportsnet
In the US: NBCSN

Online streaming: Sportsnet Now

Online on NBCSports.com and the NBC Sports app.

2017 NHL Awards Finalists

  • Hart Trophy (league MVP): Connor McDavid, Sidney Crosby, Sergei Bobrovsky.
  • Norris Trophy (best defenseman): Brent Burns, Erik Karlsson, Victor Hedman
  • Vezina Trophy (best goaltender): Sergei Bobrovsky, Braden Holtby, Carey Price.
  • Calder Trophy (top rookie): Auston Matthews, Patrik Laine, Zach Werenski.
  • Selke Trophy (best defensive forward): Ryan Kesler, Patrice Bergeron, Mikko Koivu.
  • Lady Byng Trophy (most gentlemanly forward): Johnny Gaudreau, Vladimir Tarasenko, Mikael Granlund.
  • Masterton Trophy (dedication / perseverance): Craig Anderson, Andrew Cogliano, Derek Ryan.
  • NHL Foundation Award (community service): Wayne Simmonds, Travis Hamonic.
  • Mark Messier Leadership Award: Nick Foligno, Ryan Getzlaf, Mark Giordano.
  • Ted Lindsay Award (MVP as voted by the players): Brent Burns, Sidney Crosby, Connor McDavid.
  • Jack Adams Award (best coach): Mike Babcock, Todd McLellan, John Tortorella./

General Manager of the Year: Peter Chiarelli, Pierre Dorion, David Poile.

Top of comments section | Top of article | Homepage