clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Laval Rocket name four new alternate captains, Byron Froese keeps C

Kenny Agostino, Michael Chaput, Alexandre Grenier and Michael McCarron have been chosen

Club de hockey Canadien inc.

The Laval Rocket have officially confirmed that Byron Froese will remain captain of the Laval Rocket for the 2018-19 season following a decision by the Montreal Canadiens management.

Froese remains the only player in franchise history to have captained the club, however four new alternate captains have been named.

Forwards Kenny Agostino, Michael Chaput, Alexandre Grenier and Michael McCarron have all been chosen to wear the A.

Last season, defenseman Matt Taormina, and forward Chris Terry had the job of deputising Froese.

Agostino, 26, is entering his first year as a member of the Canadiens organisation after leading the AHL in scoring last season.

Chaput and Grenier, 26 and 27 respectively, are also both due to begin their first campaign with the Habs having joined from Utica and Springfield.

McCarron is entering his fourth season with the Rocket, having been selected 25th overall by the Canadiens in the 2013 NHL draft.