Comments / New

2024 World Junior Hockey Championship: Full tournament schedule

Credit: Perry Nelson-USA TODAY Sports

For three years the World Junior Hockey Championship had been held in Canada, but now it heads back to Europe for the first time since the Czech Republic hosted the 2020 tournament. This year, the top under-20 team in the world will be determined in Gothenburg, Sweden.

A new team has entered the fray after a freeze on the participating countries the past few years. Austria has been relegated after finishing 10th each of the last three events, allowing Norway to re-enter the fold for the first time since 2014, which was also the last time the tournament was hosted in Sweden.

Preliminary round

The first phase of the tournament involves two groups (A and B) of five teams playing a round robin to decide positioning for the playoff portion. The top four nations from each group make it to the quarter-finals, while the bottom teams will play each other in a placement game.

December 26, 2023

12:00 PM CEST / 6:00 AM EST: Slovakia vs. Czechia
2:30 PM CEST / 8:30 AM EST: Finland vs. Canada
5:00 PM CEST / 11:00 AM EST: United States vs. Norway
7:30 PM CEST / 1:30 PM EST: Sweden vs. Latvia

December 27, 2023

12:00 PM CEST / 6:00 AM EST: Slovakia vs. Switzerland
2:30 PM CEST / 8:30 AM EST: Finland vs. Germany
5:00 PM CEST / 11:00 AM EST: Norway vs. Czechia
7:30 PM CEST / 1:30 PM EST: Latvia vs. Canada

December 28, 2023

5:00 PM CEST / 11:00 AM EST: Switzerland vs. United States
7:30 PM CEST / 1:30 PM EST: Germany vs. Sweden

December 29, 2023

12:00 PM CEST / 6:00 AM EST: Norway vs. Slovakia
2:30 PM CEST / 8:30 AM EST: Latvia vs. Finland
5:00 PM CEST / 11:00 AM EST: Czechia vs. United States
7:30 PM CEST / 1:30 PM EST: Canada vs. Sweden

December 30, 2023

5:00 PM CEST / 11:00 AM EST: Switzerland vs. Norway
7:30 PM CEST / 1:30 PM EST: Germany vs. Latvia

December 31, 2023

12:00 PM CEST / 6:00 AM EST: United States vs. Slovakia
2:30 PM CEST / 8:30 AM EST: Sweden vs. Finland
5:00 PM CEST / 11:00 AM EST: Czechia vs. Switzerland
7:30 PM CEST / 1:30 PM EST: Canada vs. Germany

Grid schedule (EST)

Team Dec 26 Dec 27 Dec 28 Dec 29 Dec 30 Dec 31
CAN FIN (8:30) LAT (13:30) SWE (13:30) GER (13:30)
CZE SVK (6:00) NOR (11:00) USA (11:00) SUI (11:00)
FIN CAN (8:30) GER (8:30) LAT (8:30) SWE (8:30)
GER FIN (8:30) SWE (13:30) LAT (13:30) CAN (13:30)
LAT SWE (13:30) CAN (13:30) FIN (8:30) GER (13:30)
NOR USA (11:00) CZE (11:00) SVK (6:00) SUI (11:00)
SUI SVK (6:00) USA (11:00) NOR (11:00) CZE (11:00)
SVK CZE (6:00) SUI (6:00) NOR (6:00) USA (6:00)
SWE LAT (13:30) GER (13:30) CAN (13:30) FIN (8:30)
USA NOR (11:00) SUI (11:00) CZE (11:00) SVK (6:00)

Placement game

Rather than a best-of-three series, a single placement game will be played between the teams that finish at the bottom of each group. The winner will remain in the Top Division for the 2025 event. The loser will drop down to Division IA, making room for Kazakhstan’s promotion next year.

January 4, 2024

11:00 AM CEST, 5:00 AM EST: A5 vs. B5

Playoff round

The top seed from Group A plays the fourth seed from Group B, the second seed of Group A the third seed from Group B, and so on. These are all single-elimination games, with the losers’ tournament coming to an end, and the winners moving on to the semifinals. The winners of the semis play for the gold medal, while the losers battle for bronze.

January 2, 2024

12:00 PM CEST / 6:00 AM EST: Quarter-final 1
2:30 PM CEST / 8:30 AM EST: Quarter-final 2
5:00 PM CEST / 11:00 AM EST: Quarter-final 3
7:30 PM CEST / 1:30 PM EST: Quarter-final 4 (reserved for Sweden)

January 4, 2024

3:00 PM CEST / 9:00 AM EST: Semifinal 1 (reserved for Sweden)
7:30 PM CEST / 1:30 PM EST: Semifinal 2

January 5, 2024

3:00 PM CEST / 9:00 AM EST: Bronze Medal Game
7:30 PM CEST / 1:30 PM EST: Gold Medal Game

Support Habs Eyes On The Prize by signing up for Norton 360