clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2022 World Junior Hockey Championship: Full tournament schedule

All the games that will be played during the tournament that runs from December 26, 2021 to January 5, 2022.

Canada v United States: Gold Medal Game - 2021 IIHF World Junior Championship Photo by Codie McLachlan/Getty Images

** This schedule was for the original attempt at the tournament in December, 2021. For the schedule of the tournament taking place in August, 2022, click here. **


The International Ice Hockey Federation’s World Junior Hockey Championship is once again being hosted in the province of Alberta this year. Edmonton managed to pull off the event during the pandemic a year earlier with a regimen of deep cleaning at Rogers Place to keep the 10 teams safe. Despite an outbreak for one team as it landed in the city, the tournament was able to go ahead with all games being played. The IIHF is hoping the people involved can make that happen once more with the Omicron variant serving as the newest threat.

Scheduling has already been impacted by the virus. The pre-tournament slate that typically gives all of the 10 teams three games to get accustomed to the rinks and new teammates was reduced to one game apiece, and even one of those games had to be cancelled hours before it was set to be played on Thursday. As of now, the main event is still set to go as initially planned, and this is how it’s all set up:

Preliminary round

The first phase involves two groups of five teams playing a round robin to decide positioning for the playoff portion. Eight teams make it to the quarter-finals, while the bottom team from each group gets set to play the fifth seed from the other group.

December 26, 2021

12:00 PM MST / 2:00 PM EST: Finland vs. Germany
2:30 PM MST / 4:30 PM EST: Russia vs. Sweden
5:00 PM MST / 7:00 PM EST: Czechia vs. Canada
7:30 PM MST / 9:30 PM EST: United States vs. Slovakia

December 27, 2021

12:00 PM MST / 2:00 PM EST: Austria vs. Finland
2:30 PM MST / 4:30 PM EST: Russia vs. Switzerland
5:00 PM MST / 7:00 PM EST: Germany vs. Czechia
7:30 PM MST / 9:30 PM EST: Sweden vs. Slovakia

December 28, 2021

2:30 PM MST / 4:30 PM EST: Switzerland vs. United States
5:00 PM MST / 7:00 PM EST: Austria vs. Canada

December 29, 2021

12:00 PM MST / 2:00 PM EST: Finland vs. Czechia
2:30 PM MST / 4:30 PM EST: Slovakia vs. Russia
5:00 PM MST / 7:00 PM EST: Canada vs. Germany
7:30 PM MST / 9:30 PM EST: Sweden vs. United States

December 30, 2021

2:30 PM MST / 4:30 PM EST: Czechia vs. Austria
5:00 PM MST / 7:00 PM EST: Slovakia vs. Switzerland

December 31, 2021

12:00 PM MST / 2:00 PM EST: Germany vs. Austria
2:30 PM MST / 4:30 PM EST: Switzerland vs. Sweden
5:00 PM MST / 7:00 PM EST: Canada vs. Finland
7:30 PM MST / 9:30 PM EST: United States vs. Russia

Grid schedule (PM EDT)

Team Aug 9 Aug 10 Aug 11 Aug 12 Aug 13 Aug 14 Aug 15
Team Aug 9 Aug 10 Aug 11 Aug 12 Aug 13 Aug 14 Aug 15
AUT GER (10:00) SWE (2:00) USA (2:00) SUI (2:00)
CAN LAT (6:00) SVK (6:00) CZE (6:00) FIN (6:00)
CZE SVK (2:00) FIN (2:00) CAN (6:00) LAT (6:00)
FIN LAT (6:00) CZE (2:00) SVK (2:00) CAN (6:00)
GER USA (10:00) AUT (10:00) SUI (10:00) SWE (10:00)
LAT FIN (6:00) CAN (6:00) SVK (6:00) CZE (6:00)
SUI SWE (2:00) USA (10:00) GER (10:00) AUT (2:00)
SVK CZE (2:00) CAN (6:00) LAT (6:00) FIN (2:00)
SWE SUI (2:00) AUT (2:00) USA (10:00) GER (10:00)
USA GER (10:00) SUI (10:00) AUT (2:00) SWE (10:00)

Playoff round

The top seed from Group A plays the fourth seed from Group B, the second seed of Group A the third seed from Group B, and so on. These are all single-elimination games, with the losers’ tournament coming to an end, and the winners moving on.

January 2, 2022

12:30 PM MST / 2:30 PM EST: Quarter-final 1
3:00 PM MST / 5:00 PM EST: Quarter-final 2
5:30 PM MST / 7:30 PM EST: Quarter-final 3 (reserved for Canada)
8:00 PM MST / 10:00 PM EST: Quarter-final 4

January 4, 2022

1:00 PM MST / 3:00 PM EST: Semifinal 1
5:00 PM MST / 7:00 PM EST: Semifinal 2 (reserved for Canada)

January 5, 2022

2:00 PM MST / 4:00 PM EST: Bronze Medal Game
6:00 PM MST / 8:00 PM EST: Gold Medal Game

Relegation series

With Switzerland and Austria, the two teams who finished in the bottom two spots in 2021, dealing with COVID cases at the start of the 2022 event, the IIHF made the snap decision to cancel the relegation portion of the event. All 10 teams in the mix this year will be around next year, and joined by an 11th team, Belarus, which gained promotion in the Division I championship earlier in December.

The relegation series is a best-of-three pitting the bottom team from each group against each other. The winner hangs around in the Top Division for another year, the loser gets relegated to Division I and plays in the IIHF’s second-tier tournament next year.

January 2, 2022 (10 AM MST, 12 PM EST): A5 vs. B5
January 3, 2022 (10 AM MST, 12 PM EST): B5 vs. A5
January 5, 2022 (10 AM MST, 12 PM EST): A5 vs. B5 (if necessary)