clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2018 NHL All-Star Game: Format, start time, rosters, and how to watch

The 3-on-3 tournament returns once again.

2018 GEICO NHL All-Star Skills Competition - Save Streak Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

Many of the top NHL players will show off their skills in plenty of open ice today as the 2018 NHL All-Star Game takes place in Tampa Bay.

The league will use the 3-on-3 tournament format again this season, pitting the four divisions against one another. The two divisions in each conference go head-to-head in 20-minute games with 10-minute halves, with tied games going to a shootout to determine the winner.

How to watch

In Canada: CBC, Sportsnet, Sportsnet Now (English), TVA Sports (French)
In the US: NBC
Elsewhere: GameCentre Live

Semifinal #1: Central Division vs. Pacific Division

Start time: 3:30 PM EST / 12:30 PM PST

The Western Conference goes first, with the Central Division’s handful of Norris Trophy contenders facing off against a skilled group of forwards that includes Johnny Gaudreau, Connor McDavid, and rookie sensation Brock Boeser. The Central is no slouch in the offesive department either, with Tyler Seguin, Blake Wheeler, and breakout superstar Nathan MacKinnon posing a serious challenge.

Central Division

Player Position Team
Player Position Team
Patrick Kane Forward Chicago Blackhawks
Nathan MacKinnon Forward Colorado Avalanche
Brayden Schenn Forward St. Louis Blues
Tyler Seguin Forward Dallas Stars
Eric Staal Forward Minnesota Wild
Blake Wheeler Forward Winnipeg Jets
John Klingberg Defenceman Dallas Stars
Alex Pietrangelo Defenceman St. Louis Blues
P.K. Subban (C) Defenceman Nashville Predators
Connor Hellebuyck Goaltender Winnipeg Jets
Pekka Rinne Goaltender Nashville Predators

Pacific Division

Player Position Team
Player Position Team
Brock Boeser Forward Vancouver Canucks
Johnny Gaudreau Forward Calgary Flames
Anze Kopitar Forward Los Angeles Kings
Connor McDavid (C) Forward Edmonton Oilers
James Neal Forward Vegas Golden Knights
Rickard Rakell Forward Anaheim Ducks
Brent Burns Defenceman San Jose Sharks
Drew Doughty Defenceman Los Angeles Kings
Oliver Ekman-Larsson Defenceman Arizona Coyotes
Marc-Andre Fleury Goaltender Vegas Golden Knights
Mike Smith Goaltender Calgary Flames

Semifinal #2: Metropolitan Division vs. Atlantic Division

Start time: approximately 4:30 PM EST / 1:30 PM PST

The Atlantic Division has been the weakest of the four this year, but luckily the host team that gets disproportional representation among the player pool also happens to be the league’s best. Thanks to that, Tampa Bay Lightning stars Nikita Kucherov, Steven Stamkos, Andrei Vasilevskiy, and Brayden Point will all be on the ice alongside top-end talents like Erik Karlsson and Auston Matthews. They will go up against Sidney Crosby and Alex Ovechkin, as well as the New York Islanders duo of John Tavares and Josh Bailey in the second semifinal of the day.

Metropolitan Division

Player Position Team
Player Position Team
Josh Bailey Forward New York Islanders
Brian Boyle Forward New Jersey Devils
Sidney Crosby Forward Pittsburgh Penguins
Claude Giroux Forward Philadelphia Flyers
Alex Ovechkin (C) Forward Washington Capitals
John Tavares Forward New York Islanders
Noah Hanifin Defenceman Carolina Hurricanes
Kris Letang Defenceman Pittsburgh Penguins
Zach Werenski Defenceman Columbus Blue Jackets
Braden Holtby Goaltender Washington Capitals
Henrik Lundqvist Goaltender New York Rangers

Atlantic Division

Player Position Team
Player Position Team
Aleksander Barkov Forward Florida Panthers
Jack Eichel Forward Buffalo Sabres
Nikita Kucherov Forward Tampa Bay Lightning
Brad Marchand Forward Boston Bruins
Auston Matthews Forward Toronto Maple Leafs
Brayden Point Forward Tampa Bay Lightning
Steven Stamkos (C) Forward Tampa Bay Lightning
Mike Green Defenceman Detroit Red Wings
Erik Karlsson Defenceman Ottawa Senators
Carey Price Goaltender Montrel Canadiens
Andrei Vasilevskiy Goaltender Tampa Bay Lightning

Final: West champion vs. East champion

Start time: approximately 5:30 PM EST / 2:30 PM PST

The winners of the semifinals battle for league supremacy, and all the bragging rights that go with it.