clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 NHL Awards: Nominees, Schedule, Start Time and How to Watch

It's awards time in Las Vegas once again and here's the schedule of tonights events.

Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

After last year's dominance at the NHL Awards by Carey Price, this year will feature P.K. Subban as the only member of the Canadiens up for any hardware. Subban's philanthropic work this year has seen him nominated for the NHL Foundation Player Award and with his massive donation to the Montreal Children's Hospital he has to be considered a front runner.

How To Watch

Starts at 7:00PM ET

Canadian TV: Sportsnet | American TV: NBCSN

2016 NHL Award Finalists

  • Hart Trophy (League MVP): Patrick Kane, Jamie Benn, Sidney Crosby
  • Norris Trophy (Best Defenseman): Drew DoughtyErik Karlsson, Brent Burns
  • Vezina Trophy (Best Goalie): Braden HoltbyBen Bishop, Jonathan Quick
  • Calder Trophy (Top Rookie): Shayne Gostisbehere, Artemi Panarin, Connor McDavid
  • Selke Trophy (Best Defensive Forward): Anze Kopitar, Patrice Bergeron, Ryan Kesler
  • Lady Byng (Most Gentlemanly Forward): Anze Kopitar, Aleksander Barkov, Loui Eriksson
  • Masterton Trophy (Dedication/Perserverance): Jaromir Jagr, Mats Zuccarello, Pascal Dupuis
  • NHL Foundation Award (Community/Charity Work): Matt Martin, P.K. Subban, Mark Giordano
  • Mark Messier Leadership Award: Alex Ovechkin, Shea Weber, John Tavares
  • Ted Lindsay Award (MVP as voted by the players): Patrick Kane, Jamie Benn, Braden Holtby
  • Jack Adams (Best Coach): Lindy Ruff, Barry Trotz, Gerard Gallant
  • General Manager of the Year: Jim Rutherford, Brian MacLellan, Jim Nill

The Habs Angle

Subban is the only player nominated this year after Carey Price collected four pieces of hardware last year. As stated it's hard to see either Matt Martin or Mark Giordano beating out P.K. for the award this year with how much work Subban poured into the children's hospital in Montreal.